MEN'S HEALTH WEEK 2010:
12 WEEK FITNESS TRAINING PROGRAMME

 

Welcome To The MHFI Website

Find Out More About MHFI

MHFI Membership

RESOURCES

All The Latest News

Other Useful Websites

How To Contact Us

 

 

The Men's Health Forum in Ireland now has a new website. To see it, click here ...

Link to new MHFI website

 

However, to find out more about the 12 Week Fitness Training Programme, read below ...

 

 

"Get Up. Get Out. Get Going"
- a beginner's training programme to get fit enough to complete a 3km, 5km or even a 10km run in just 12 weeks!

Men's Health Week 2010 Logo

Men in Ireland need to engage in more physical activity. It’s as simple as that! ...

WHY?
Regular physical activity is the key to getting healthy and to staying healthy. Yet, despite this, few local people take part in such activity. This can have major health consequences, and it is predicted that by 2015 a third of men on the island of Ireland will be clinically obese - thereby increasing their risk of cardiovascular disease and diabetes in particular.

Physical activity can benefit every aspect of a person’s health. Regular exercise reduces the risk of chronic diseases such as coronary heart disease, Type 2 diabetes, stroke, cancer, osteoporosis and depression. It reduces stress, improves sleeping patterns, builds-up bone and muscle strength, helps to control weight, tones body shape … Physical activity is, therefore, the ultimate natural treatment for many modern day illnesses and complaints - and, most importantly, it's free!.

 

WHEN?
International Men’s Health Week 2010 (Monday 14th - Sunday 20th June) focused upon the theme of “Men and Physical Activity”. During this week, the Men's Health Forum in Ireland (MHFI) called upon local males to “Get Up. Get Out. Get Going”, and to kick start a new pattern of looking after themselves.

To help men along, MHFI is now offering a 12 week fitness training programme. Each week the programme will slowly, easily and realistically build-up the trainee's level of fitness to the point where - if they wish - they will be capable of entering either a 3km, 5km or even a 10km run. Almost everyone is capable of completing the programme and meeting the goals that they set for themselves.

So, that participants have something to work towards, MHFI is organising an event on Saturday 4th September 2010 in the grounds of Ardgillan Castle near Skerries in Co. Dublin. This will give everyone the opportunity to test their progress in either a 5km or 10km Race (which will also include competitive runners) or in a 3km Fun Run / Walk. To find out more about this event, please click here.

 

HOW?
The Men's Health Forum in Ireland is offering a 12 week online training programme. This will guide, advise and support total beginners through the preparation process for either a 3km, 5km or 10km run. The programme will also direct participants to other relevant websites - to ensure that they are as well informed as possible, and that they can get all their questions and concerns answered.

This programme began on Monday 14th June 2010. Each week, MHFI will offer a new installment of the training schedule. In this way, it will gradually be revealed over the 12 week period. Therefore, you only focus upon what you need to do now, and you do this in bite-sized chunks!

 

THE TRAINING PROGRAMME

Click on the links below to open a Microsoft Word document for each week of the programme ...

Week 1: Monday 14th - Sunday 20th June 2010

Week 2: Monday 21st June - Sunday 27th June 2010

Week 3: Monday 28th June - Sunday 4th July 2010

Week 4: Monday 5th July - Sunday 11th July 2010

Week 5: Monday 12th July - Sunday 18th July 2010

Week 6: Monday 19th July - Sunday 25th July 2010

Week 7: Monday 26th July - Sunday 1st August 2010

Week 8: Monday 2nd August - Sunday 8th August 2010

Week 9: Monday 9th August - Sunday 15th August 2010

Week 10: Monday 16th August - Sunday 22nd August 2010

Week 11: Monday 23rd August - Sunday 29th August 2010

Week 12: Monday 30th August - Saturday 4th September 2010 - The Final Week!!!

 

Now that you've completed the programme, why don't you think about joining us at our event in Ardgillan Castle on Saturday 4th September 2010 ...

Information on Ardgillan Castle event

Click on the blue button to go to the Home Page of our new website

 

Site maintained by Colin Fowler
Design, layout, logos and information copyrighted 2004-2010 by The Men's Health Forum in Ireland